Lee Strand U-14 Féile Final - Match Report
Sunday, 21 April 2013 10:32
The Lee Strand U-14 Féile Peil na nÓg 2013 Football Final

Austin Stacks 1 - 8,

Firies 0 - 3.

Austin Stacks were the Féile winners in Farranfore last Saturday, where they overcame local side, Firies, by 1 - 8 to 3 points. The Tralee side played with the aid of the wind in the first half and were ahead by 5 points to 1 at the break, with 2 points from their influential mid-fielder Pádraig Looney and 2 points from corner-forward Gearóid Sheehan.

Firies looked to be still in contention at half-time, after winning a lot of possession in the first half, but their star midfielder, Niall Donoghue, was severely hampered by a thigh injury, and failed to have the impact that was expected from him. Both sides swapped points early in the second half, and despite plenty of possession Firies failed to get scores on the board.

Ciarán O'Reilly for Austin Stacks was outstanding at centre-half-back in the second half. The crucial score came mid way through the second half when Joseph O'Connor finished a rebound to the net to put the Tralee side ahead by 1 - 7 to 2 points at the three quarter stage. A pointed free for each side finished the scoring in the last ten minutes.

After the game, Paddy O'Sullivan from Currow presented THE DAN O'SULLIVAN MEMORIAL CUP, to the winning captain, Shane Walsh. Austin Stacks will now represent Kerry in the National Féile Finals to be held in Derry at the end of June.

In the Semi-Finals, played earlier in the day, Firies had a 1-point win over Beaufort (1 - 7 to 1 - 6), while Austin Stacks were comfortable winners over Dingle, the score was 3 - 5 to 1 point.

Austin Stacks:
Robbie Murphy, Donagh McMahon, Dylan Casey, Tomás Sheehy, Cian Holden, Shane Walsh, Odhran Liston, Gearóid Fitzgerald, Pádraig Looney, Joseph O'Connor, Ciarán O'Reilly, David Fitzmaurice, Harry O'Callaghan, Michael Linnane, Gearóid Sheehan.
Subs: Donal McKivergan, Michael Slattery, Shane Kelliher, Eoin Lynch, Michael O'Gara, Simon Draghici, Ciaráin Killeen, Conor Lowe, Hugh Healy, Evan O'Connor, Darragh O'Sullivan, Dean O'Connell, Tom Crowley, Alan Dore, Cian Talbot.

Firies: Patrick Daly, Diarmuid Brosnan, Ciarán Flynn, Kevin O'Connor, Jack O'Driscoll, Liam Brosnan, Shane Callaghan, Cian Callaghan, Niall Donoghue, Diarmuid O'Mahony, David Kenny, Shane Kennedy, Evan Cosgrave, Seán Cooper, Donnacha O'Sullivan.
Subs: Ciamen Sheedy, Kenneth O'Sullivan, Trevor O'Shea, Jake Flynn.

Referee: John Dineen (Fossa). The Referees for the semi-finals were John Dineen (Fossa) and Tommy Brosnan (Dr Crokes).