Lee Strand U-16 County League - Division 1 Final - Report
Thursday, 16 August 2012 17:24
Under 16 County League, Division 1 Final

Dingle 0 - 12,

An Ghaeltacht 0 - 2.

Dingle retained the Division 1 County League trophy in Lispole last Wednesday evening, with an outstanding display of football. The two points scored by An Ghaeltacht doesn't do justice to the huge effort that they put in. However, they couldn't convert the handsome second half possession to scores on the board. In contrast Dingle won the majority of possession around the middle of the field where team captain Matthew Flaherty along with Conor Geaney Cathal Bambury and Tom O'Sullivan were inspirational for their team.

Dingle had four points on the board in the opening ten minutes before An Ghaeltacht got their opening score with a long-range point from Seán Ó Bambaire. The Dingle mid-fielders, Marc O'Connor and Matthew Flaherty, added a point each to extend their lead to 0 - 6 to 0 - 1 mid-way through the half. Colm Ó Beaglaoich got Gaeltacht's second point after 18 minutes of play, and this was to be their last score.

There was a lot of end-to-end play during the second half but the wet conditions made it difficult for both teams get scores. Dingle were ahead by 0 - 12 to 2 points by the 50th minute. To their credit, An Ghaeltacht never gave up and went for goals during the last ten minutes when they could have taken points.

Dingle: Luke Wallace, Tom O'Sullivan, Conor O'Sullivan, Mikey O'Boyle, Cathal Sheehy, Aidan O'Connor, Conor Geaney, Marc O'Connor, Matthew Flaherty, Gareth Hickey Brosnan, Cathal Bambury, Liam Brosnan, Tomas Sheehy, Tom O'Sullivan, Patrick Sheehy.Subs: Donal Hanafin, Mickey Bolan, Fin Matthews, Seamus O'Flaherty, Luke McLarnon, Rory Browne, Ruadhan McCarthy, Jamie Granville, ShaneO'Connor.

An Ghaeltacht: Brian Ó Murchú, Cian Ó Murchú, Sean Ó Gairbhia, Ciarán Mac Gearailt, Cathal Ó Gairbhia, Brian Ó Beaglaoich, Tomas Breathnach, Colm Ó Beaglaoich, Seamus Ó Muircheartaigh, Fiach Ó Laoinsigh, Seán Ó Bambaire, Mairtín Ó Gormain, Gearóid Mac Gearailt, Rob Ó Se, P.J. Mac Laimh.Subs: Sean Ó Luing, Aindle Mac Gearailt, Tomas Ó Se, Oigí Ó Se, Shane Ó Gairbhia, Brian Ó Dubhain, Jeaic Ó Muircheartaigh, Micí Ó Beaglaoich, Jeaic Ó Grifin, Fergal Ó Cuannaigh, Cian Cuff.
Referee: Paul Hayes (Kerins O'Rahillys)